Term 1 | Week 7 | Kibo Computer Science Degree | My Journal

Turn on the music girls! We got to party hard!

After the soldiers arrive back from war, they partied hard because they have won the war. In the war, there were a lot of challenges. They lost friends, brothers, sisters, seniors, and juniors. The struggle was hard, the enemies were cruel. Coming back was a victorious return because they were still alive. Life bundles hope and the mind into unity and the result is a force stronger than gravity.

Can you explain how time works? I thought I have got a hang of it, but it keeps flying past me (or with me). Yesterday was the ushering-in of the orientation week. Today ends the 7th week in a beautiful term. What went missing in between?

I counted week 1 yesterday and today I counted week 7, did I make a mistake??? If I didn't, I deserve a plate (or two) of full-sized turkey well fried into the bones. I must chew and I must blend because if I must experience the peacefulness of time, I must bend with its current.

What is he saying?

What about just expressing gratitude and appreciating my small wins? Yes, that is what I am doing. If you are a Kibo student, you need it.

MT is a struggle but a maker that a group of students can be seen unleashing their wrath on its tentacles. I could see the urge to overcome, the pride of becoming a victor, and the power of determination. Humans are irresistible when they are humans and a god when they are irresistible. They dominate a problem until they overcome it.

If a parable is not your thing, I am sorry. This article is full of them. Don't worry! It is not a long read.

I walked by a garden some months ago, looking for a special breed of flowers with scents that tickle me in my dreams. I wanted a bouquet that I could carry with me all the time and that would never lose its scents. I needed something beyond "just another flower" and "this scent can only exist for a while".

When you look for something consistently, you find it consistently.

I got something, not just a flower. I got...

Kibo School of Technology

You come across a website one day and the first piece of text that welcomes you is:

Transcend the barriers of traditional universities with an online degree from Kibo. Get a world-class education in computer science, build a global network, and become a high-impact engineer.

Before then, you have been researching. A lot. Looking for an online school that could offer you affordable, world-class education? The first time you came across the name "Kibo", it looks strange and makes you uncertain. You find yourself that evening reading through the whole website, trying to get a history lesson about the school. Half the time, you were filled with awe and were joyful because you have met your dream school. The other half was filled with uncertainty because you still couldn't afford the tuition fees even though it was cheaper and more considerate.

The next day, at your school, you started preaching a new gospel. A gospel of your new findings because you don't want to have Kibo all to yourself. Everyone you meet asks a question:

How much is the tuition fee?

"$2000 per year", came your reply. "It is not about the money, it is about the value you get from what you pay."

Yourself, you have no way of paying for the tuition as much as you think through it. You felt discouraged and almost gave up until you came across the scholarship benefits that the founding students would enjoy. That was the time you concluded that no matter what it will take you, you must be a part of this.

This was me. Things have unfolded pretty quickly since then and here I am. The courses may be challenging but you can't do great things without doing hard things, I have learned. I have also kept Kibo values at the core of my learning. Many youths need this. Many youths need Kibo. I promise to also support the scholarship funds shortly because more people need to hear this, and more need to taste this. The traditional educational system of my country is a big mess. Another thing I like about Kibo is the website. The website is like a storybook. It tells a captivating and true story... Sincerely, it was what assured me about their authenticity. It showed me how much work has been put into Kibo.

The organization of the curriculum also amazes me. The curriculum was structured in a way that keeps real-world problems at the forefront while equipping you with the knowledge and skills to proffer solutions to them. It forces you to think outside the box, to become an innovative thinker. You will always find a place for the knowledge you acquire in society and the world at large. If you want to check out the curriculum, you can find it here.

You must be a fan!

Yeah, I am. The best form of advertisement is mouth-to-mouth. The most respected and reliable advertisement is that from a customer. All Kibo students are fans... Some of us would express all I have said much better.

This is the end of my article today. Thanks for reading. I hope you enjoyed it. Next week's article may be long since I will also discuss what I learned this week.