Term 1 | Week 5 | Kibo Computer Science Degree | My Journal

"This is coming late!"

Yes, I know!

Many things have happened this past week starting from Sunday through Saturday. As you climb up the ladder to the peak or climb up the high mountain to the topmost peak, situations would make you want to look down. The moment you look down, you will see either of these things:

  • How far you have come and how close you are to the top.
  • How high you are above the ground and how a slip could break you asunder.

It depends on the mindset you have.

Week 5 writing motivation was not increasing my squad points, but showing up. That is why I can still type hn.new into my browser's address bar and write even though my article is coming up late. I am beginning to see my journal from a different perspective...

  • A legacy for those coming behind me
  • A documentation of my journey to the peak with highlights of my mistakes, achievements, roadblocks, and breakthroughs.
  • A way to improve my writing skills.
  • A way to express, to impact.

With this new perspective, I begin this week's journal...

This Week's Vibes

Though I walk through the valley of the shadows of drawbacks, I fear no evil...

I encountered a lot of challenges this week and so I said, but I also achieved more this week than every other week. These achievements, though may appear small to you, have boosted my morale and kept me expectant for the forthcoming weeks.

NOTE: Because week 5 was the midterm, there was more work for us to do compared to the previous weeks. For OYL and MT, we were given both assignments and projects.

  • For OYL, this week is officially the last. We were given a final assignment (an essay) and a group SDL project which consists of 4 milestones that started in week 2.
  • For MT, we were given a problem set to solve and a midterm project titled "How Good is a P@ssword".

The Positives

  • I completed this week's MT assignment

    For the past two weeks, I have not been able to do the MT problem sets...

    • Week 3 was my fault. I procrastinated on the assignment because I found it hard to solve. Eventually, I didn't solve it that week and couldn't solve it the next.
    • Week 4 was not entirely my fault. Week 3 miscarriage affected my productivity during week 4. I had 2 assignments on my plate to attend to and instead of getting to work on one of them, I spent most of my quality time contemplating which to attend to first. By the time I had made a decision, it was already daylight. Also, I have been pursuing my national diploma before my admission and I am already coming to the end of it. I had exams to write in week 4 and had to put more time into exam preparation...since I haven't made these preparations beforehand.

    Knowing this, I had to face week 5 with so much determination to correct my wrong that I had to beg for an internet connection as my phone was stolen on the first day of the same week, Sunday. I completed/submitted the week 4 assignment this week and submitted this week's assignment some hours after the deadline...better than the past two weeks.

  • I maximized my enjoyment when attending to my OYL assignment

    For OYL, we neither had a live class nor were we given online lessons to consume on the course website this week. We were only given a final assignment and a group project that I have stated above. My final assignment was the best so far since I started the OYL course. It was an essay titled "My Personal Learning Charter" which I had to create (in 1000-2000 words), using all the lessons and reflections I had carried out throughout the course, a personal learning charter. It consists of 7 sections and I had an awesome experience writing it...because...

    • I revised most of what I had learned throughout the course and established a deeper understanding of the objectives of the course.
    • I was able to not just set, but develop goals that would last me for a year.
    • I became aware of the path I wanted to master in tech because of my passion for that field.

    In summary, it was an experience where I lost track of time while writing because I spent more time reflecting.

    As for the project, I am still enjoying the process and you will learn more about it in the next article.

  • I developed a CLI chatbot for Programming 1 midterm project

    CLICommand Line Interface

    For our midterm project, we were required to develop a simple chatbot that can perform some tasks. It was a group project. I worked with Emmanuel Onyeali, a member of my squad and a Kibo founding student. Our chatbot could do some of the following: chatbot-screenshot-1 chatbot-screenshot-2 chatbot-screenshot-3 chatbot-screenshot-4 chatbot-screenshot-5 chatbot-screenshot-6

    A bonus task we were assigned was to connect the chatbot to Discord using the discord API. I attempted it and would have liked to show you the file where I was working on it. I had to abandon it when I kept running into the same error for 2 days. I kept getting the ' Access Denied... ' error even when I successfully connected the Discord bot token to my chatbot after multiple token generation.

The Negatives

  • If I had been told that my phone would be stolen, I wouldn't believe it...but it happened and it caused me a lot of pain this week. You can read the embedded LinkedIn post below where I went into much more detail on the lessons I learned from the incident.

  • I still have leftovers from this week that I would have to attend to the following week such as OYL's SDL group project and MT midterm project (though this is not a leftover after all).

  • I missed the I4G HackFest that took place on Saturday. Kibo was one of the sponsors. I wanted to be an ambassador for Kibo during the tech festival/conference but some other things came up.

  • I didn't follow my timetable last week...and I feel bad about that.

What more can I say but thanks? Thanks! Thanks!! Thanks!!! Thanks for reading. My prestigious readers as dignitaries have taken their time to read the words of a gentleman. A gentleman who loves writing and putting his journey into writing...respect his readers and ensures that his words are 100% true. As a reader that has been following my journey, peace be unto you and your household. Bye comrade!