Term 1 | Week 4 | Kibo Computer Science Degree | My Journal

Table of contents

Remember last week... My hope to follow my timetable this week was dashed to the wall!

I have been pursuing a diploma since last year and am nearing the end of it. Because I had exams to write, I couldn't follow the timetable.

This week has been a challenging one for me and I have been struggling to keep up with my study at Kibo.

Some Updates

  1. We had our last live class for OYL. If you had read my past articles, you should be aware that OYL is a half-term course and was to span 5 weeks. Though this is the fourth week, but it marked the end of the live classes. What we have left for next week is the Final Presentation Milestone project which would be done in groups of 4 or 5.

    It has been a bittersweet experience because OYL live classes were the best for many of us. It was content-packed and an awakening moment where we get to understand ourselves better to improve our learning efficiency. We still appreciate our instructor for the course, Keno Omu, for her efforts toward making us better self-directed learners and we hope to implement all we have learned going forward (and we have started implementing them).

    This week, we covered the topic: Building your Learning Toolkit. This week exposes us to some of the tools we need to become better self-directed learners. One of the keywords we covered well is Habits. We were taught how habits can influence our learning. We also had a glimpse of the book, Atomic Habits, written by James Clear where we learned about the four stages of habit formation. We also learned some tools to help break bad habits and build new ones.

    Yes, I am not done! In the previous week, we learned that to become a self-directed learner, you have to plan, monitor, and evaluate your learning. This week, we took a step further to identify and implement some learning strategies to increase our effectiveness as self-directed learners.

    Talk about an awesome experience, this is one of my best experiences this week!

  2. We had our first physical meetup with Kibo's CEO... For the founding students residing in Ibadan, ours took place on Wednesday between 12-2 p.m. It was a blissful experience! I don't think blissful is good enough a adjective to properly qualify the feeling or experience. I would give you an analogy instead...

    That feeling when your mother arrived home after a long stressful day of sales. Before she arrived, you were very hungry and you were looking out for your arrival. She not only arrived but also bought you fruit juice and pizza to keep your stomach warm while she prepared your supper. To add to this feeling, she then revealed that sales were good that day and she had bought you that pair of shoes you have been dying to purchase. What is the feeling you can imagine right now?

    I met Ope Bukola (Kibo CEO) and Oyinoluwa Adediji (one of the student advisors) for the first time. It was a beautiful experience. I also met some of my peers and the student advisor I report directly to. So much fun and relaxation was that day to me after the exam I had written that morning.