Term 1 | Week 10 | Kibo Computer Science Degree | My Journal

Term 1 | Week 10 | Kibo Computer Science Degree | My Journal

"The key is in not spending time, but in investing it." – Stephen R. Covey.

Do you remember that I didn't write last week? If you do, then you must have been waiting for this.

And come to think of it, this is my last article for this term. So, it ought to be special...or no! short!.

Let me pause here and thank you all for staying with me through this journey. It hasn't been easy, but it has been God all the way.

Should I write a poem about time? Because she doesn't stop to amaze me...

From next term, I would be going fully technical... i.e. For each article, I would explain a topic extensively that I would have learned that week. Or should I start with this one?

As you must have guessed, this week has been the most hectic of all. And for me, the last two weeks...

An obstacle presented itself at the dawn of Monday last week. I woke up that fateful day only to find the touchpad of my phone unresponsive. I tried to do the little I could to nudge it back to a working existence but the efforts were as fruitless as pouring water on the back of a crocodile.

I submitted the phone at a phone hospital on Tuesday, It was fixed on Friday, and I was only able to retrieve it on Sunday (It is still a bit too touchy at times). That was how I wasted a whole week to movies (and note that I am not a movie fan).

A story for an excuse has been narrated to explain why I couldn't write last week. Even if I were to write, what would I write? When I barely learned anything (except some history lessons from movies and Libraries and Complexities, Programming 1 topic for last week).

While I am still dwelling on Programming 1, let me introduce you to the final project...

Programming 1 Final Project

As I sang into the air and walked on my belly with joy at having my phone back, I ran into the three project options we had for a final project. They are:

  1. Population Analysis - We were to perform an initial analysis of population data using all the concepts we had learned over the course of the course (pun intended).

  2. Tic-Tac-Toe Game - Here, we were to build a fully functional command-line tic-tac-toe game.

  3. Student Enrolment Management App - A command line (why do I repeat the word for clarity's sake) application that helps a fictitious school manage students' enrolments into courses.

Assuming you were hired to be a professional guess maker for me, could you guess which one I chose?

I love the look on your face right now and the hilarious song that your heartbeats play, haha!

And no! I chose not to do the tic-tac-toe game because I wanted to avoid my shadows. I know how obsessed I can get when playing games (the reason I don't play them) and bringing such into this project such obsession won't help me much. I had the MT final project untouched for a week and I know how much I am trying to meet up with two of the previous assignments.

I chose the project on Population Analysis. I completed it in a couple of hours and wasn't satisfied yet. I wished I could extract more information from the dataset provided but it was so sparse (or maybe I am so inexperienced) that the insights I got couldn't quench the hunger for more (caused by a week of no learning)**.

I continued to the student management app and I found myself a match. It was the challenge I needed to encourage myself that I wasn't lost yet. I spent a couple of hours (longer than the first though) on that. In the end, I was feeling exhausted but not feeling entirely satisfied with the result. I felt I could add more options and features. But time...

I am yet to submit the project because I am yet to decide which project I wanted to submit. Let time help me out...

Web Foundations Final Project

Web Foundations has been fun so far. I enjoyed last week's materials and lessons on Layout and Multimedia. After the lessons, I was able to use Flexbox, Grid, and positioning more effectively and I learned how to use HTML multimedia in various ways.

Since the final project was a team project, I collaborated with three other students from different squads to work on the project. We are yet to complete (and deploy) it but I would love to show you what the power of teamwork can produce. I would say that we are 90% done with the project.

Finally...

Mathematical Thinking Final Project

The MT final project focuses on encryption and decryption algorithms using all the concepts we have learned throughout the term. We have gone through Propositional Logic, Sets, Proofs, Probability, Functions, and more. Combining these, we are to learn how encryption and decryption algorithms work, and how to build and prove the RSA, from a mathematical perspective.

So far, I am behind schedule considering the closeness of the deadline, but I am enjoying the ride.

Let's see how I will end the term. I would love to explore more the topics we have learned during the holidays, especially MT.

Before I let go of you, let me ask you some questions:

How do you feel when you were given an opportunity to do what you have always been preparing for?

How do you do when you feel that you are not prepared for the opportunity you have always been prepareing for?

What do you do when obstacles and unforeseen circumstances get in your way?

What do you do when you find yourself winning?

What do you do when you find yourself failing?

Because to climb up the perilous ladder of success, one has to have answers to these questions...What keeps you going?


In closing, I have one big TODO for next term: Attend all live classes and office hours! I have been affected by this severely this term, thanks to the theft.

HAPPY NEW YEAR IN ADVANCE! ENJOY THE FESTIVE SEASON 🥳🥳🥳🥳...